Classical Season 2018/19 | Small is Beautiful

Musique de chambre

Sage Two

Alasdair Beatson piano
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Farrenc Sextet for Piano and Wind Op.40
Saint-Saëns Sonata for Oboe and Piano
Françaix L’Heure du berger
Chausson Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Quartet

Louise Farrenc has been called ‘the greatest female composer of the 19th century’, and today her magnificent C minor Sextet heads a whole parade of French chamber music – from the elegance of Saint-Saëns and Françaix to the fin-de-siècle indulgence of Chausson’s luscious Concerto.

Part of Classical Season 2018/19 | Small is Beautiful

Small chamber groups from within Royal Northern Sinfonia perform up-close in Sage Two

More Season Events

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

This season we are celebrating Royal Northern Sinfonia’s 60th birthday! Here’s what we have in store at Sage Gateshead and beyond. Classical Subscriptions On Sale 17 May 2018 Single Tickets On Sale 9 June 2018

More Season Events

blog comments powered by Disqus